Nostalgic dreams

Is there ever going to be a time when an item of clothing in your wardrobe doesn’t have a nostalgic reference?

I look back at old photos and often think OMG I can’t believe I set foot out of the door in that get up! But are our outfits of the past becoming the outfits of the future? I don’t dispute that I’m a massive lover of trends and enjoy keeping  up with what’s current but instead of having that insane moment when you feel the need to throw everything out of your closet because it’s no longer ‘current’, it might be worth hoarding a few items just in case. A friend of mine and former stylist always spoke about how she stashed so many of her old clothes away and that she would find things hidden in drawers and wardrobes from the 1980’s.  But even if she wore them now, she wouldn’t look any different to me who had just purchased a brand new item of clothing from the high street.

So my point is I think there is value in retrieving old clothes out of the closet. I recently tried this out myself. Now as a girl who usually likes to have a new outfit for a night out, this was against my usual ritual but I put my head in my (rather large) wardrobe and became inventive with what I already had.

Having grown up in the 90’s and a pink velvet dress being my all time favourite, I have a natural affiliation to that era but I know what you’re thinking…pink velvet wasn’t at the top of my list. Insert outfit details – black crop top over white t-shirt, blue denim jeans and a nude heel.

I’ll be wearing this outfit again and don’t be surprised if you see me in a tutu next week looking like an 80’s flash dancer. To me it’s important to embrace nostalgia in your personal style. It rules!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

