Florals for Spring…groundbreaking!

Meryl Streep once said the above phrase when she played the feisty editor in the Devil Wears Prada but sometimes a fashion cliché is good. I find I continue to build up my self esteem with the outfits I pull together. I recently opted for this floral dress from Topshop and pondered whether it was too cute to the point where it made me look, I don’t know 15 years old? There’s nothing wrong with looking girly and I love a dress but did I want to look like the ‘girl next door?’

However, who said florals’ had to have the stereotype of being girly? I mean I’ve just given myself a stereotype right there by branding myself as the ‘girl next door’. The truth is we need to set aside the stereotype and look at how to dress the item of clothing. A leather jacket and a pair of boots give it edge – a Mac and mules make it the perfect look for spring. Team with a pair of trousers and make it a long tunic. There is no limit to what you can do. Turning a fashion cliché around is easy – add confidence and the outfit instantly becomes your own – not just that floral dress from Topshop.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

